AB32122

When it comes to your wedding, Bat Mitzvah or other milestone event, you want your party to sparkle, but you don’t want to leave guests dizzy from the dazzle. Bling, used judiciously, will work brilliantly for you and not against you.

Case Study: Linens with Luminosity

I’m seeing lots and lots of sequins at the expos—some are done beautifully while others are overdone. As a general rule of thumb, if you are going to go with sequined linens then you need to simplify the other elements in your tablescape. For example, stick to neutrals, monochromatic flowers, streamlined vases and candles. The two examples to the left really get it right, while the one on the right is just too busy. Ruffled chairs are sweet, but then let them be your signature piece. The chair here is dueling  with the sequins, the hot fuchsia flowers, and the butterflies who are trying to fly away. The result: visual fatigue. My eye doesn’t know where to land. I’m not sure anyone comes out alive in this fight. Please don’t put your heart and soul into your special day and overdo it.

tableclothsflat

My personal choice:  go with a neutral tablecloth (not a colored one, unless you purchase high-quality linens yourself) and place a slender line of mirrors as a runner on the tables with clusters of votives and flowers. Another nice option is a sequined runner which will give you the bling, but still leave you standing. If you go with a sequined tablecloth, you may want to consider using it only for your cake or dessert table or for the newlywed’s table for maximum impact.

The Golden [Sequin] Rule: If you go with sequined linens, keep the other elements simple and refined for maximum impact and to avoid visual fatigue.

Share the Joy! Kiosk is a touchscreen program perfectly suited to recording life’s celebrations and milestones. Record video stories on our Kiosk (you choose the questions and the focus) and I design custom graphics and housing to match your décor. Upload everything to social media! Learn more.

About Paula: I have a passion for design, both in developing award-winning interactive media in the virtual world and exploring and playing with the tangible, visual world in all sorts of delightful ways. I’ve had my own workbench since I was about three when I took over my father’s and called it my own. My first upcycled gift was a cloth diaper I gave to my mother to use as a dust cloth. I think my DIYs and upcycled projects have improved vastly since then.

